Kudos to Our Keith Solomon Award Winner

Keith Solomon Award. Bronzed work boot mounted on wood base with bronze plaques affixed, inscribed with annual award winners
Photo credit: Marg Yaraskavitch, 2015.

In 1995, the Keith Solomon Award was established to celebrate an individual or group who has made a significant contribution to the improvement or preservation of the Bruce Trail in the Beaver Valley. Keith’s wife, Marguerite, offered one of his boots which was bronzed and mounted on a base and that became the Keith Solomon Award.

Today we recognize an individual for her long-standing, contributions to all parts of our Beaver Valley Bruce Trail Club.

She has been absolutely unflagging and persistent in her pursuit of excellence in everything she does, getting into every nook and cranny of the organization to make sure it is functioning the best way it possibly can.

She has been unbelievably creative in her ideas about how the Club functions -- turning the very drab and boring AGM into a really fun BBQ (plus a tiny bit of business!), thinking up the great idea of Land Ambassadors, gifting landowners with honey, and so on.

She knows every metre of the Trail and every property like the back of her hand, and is able to suggest ideas on every front.

She has been a bulwark and champion of Club common sense. She speaks her mind when others would not.

The Beaver Valley Bruce Trail Club is delighted to announce Jill Smith-Brodie as the recipient of this year’s Keith Solomon Award.

Keith Solomon Award Recipients

2021 Jill Smith-Brodie
2020 Trail Captains and Trail Maintenance Crews
2019 John Burton
2018 Mike Osborn
2017 Joan Nuffield & Bob Hann
2016 Ros Rossetti
2015 John Hollingsworth
2014 Christine Blake & Richardson Family
2013 Jim Horwood
2012 32 Combat Engineer Regiment
2011 Will Overton
2010 Bill McMurray & Fred Young
2009 John McCullam
2008 Joëlle Martin
2007 Ron Spotton
2006 Jack Morgan
2005 Beaver Valley Ski Club
2004 Linda Murray
2003 Shirley & Fred Young
2002 Ann Lis & Jim Couse
2001 Ruth & Bruce Calvert
2000 Chuck Grant
1999 Martin Siegerman
1998 Willard Thurston
1997 Murray Cleland
1996 Gordon Allen
1995 George Grant